The Honest Life

A blog about living an honest life filled with success, happiness, struggle, and most importantly, LOVE!

Sometimes They’ll Never Understand. But That’s Ok!

Hey guys,

So I know I haven’t written in awhile, so I’d like to explain my extended absence. This semester at University was a great couple of months for me, but I was extremely busy trying to get all of my academic affairs back in order after a long summer backpacking through Europe. I was trying to get my grades back to where they should be and I was joining all sorts of different clubs in an attempt to put to use all of the life lessons I learned in Europe this past summer regarding friends and relationships. I’m going to try my hardest to continue to write on a regular basis going into the new year and I hope that you all continue to come back and check out my posts (daily, hopefuly!). So with that, onto the post:

 

I’ve been a relatively angry person my entire life. I’ve always had this problem where when I would get angry, I would get VERY angry and it would take over my every being to the point where I would be a completely different person for days or even weeks at a time. I’ve spent the last year of my life working on that through mediation, counseling, and reading numerous books and blogs to the point where I feel GREAT about the improvements that I’ve made.

So the other day, some personal stuff happened with a family member of mine. After a day of not talking and keeping to myself, I wanted to let that person know how and why I was feeling the way that I was. So I asked to speak with her in private and we started talking. But no matter which way I phrased it or how many times I said it, I just couldn’t get her to understand where I was coming from. She just kept blaming everything on me and my past (How I used to get angry a lot more often and take it out on other people, etc. etc.) and she refused to accept any responsibility for making me feel the way that I was feeling. But for me, this time was different from any others. I was trying my hardest not to do that. And while I did take some of my anger out on my family, I apologized and tried my hardest not to react in the same fashion I was used to. After talking for 45 minutes or so, I could tell that the conversation wasn’t going anywhere. I was trying my very hardest to get her to see my point of view, and she wasn’t really understanding where I was coming from, no matter which way I phrased it. So I took the final five minutes of our conversation to explain in one last way how I was feeling and that I felt we were drifting apart in our lives. And with that I said, “I love you. Goodnight.”

While I would usually get extremely upset about not getting people to understand or getting things to go the way I wanted them to, I finally accepted the fact that there’s nothing I can do to change the way she looked at this situation. And that’s ok! Should I talk until I’m blue in the face only to get the same response? Should I get so worked up trying to explain to her my side of the story that I allow anger to take over me? No. That’s no life to live.

So I’m here to tell you that sometimes you need to pick your battles and you need to realize that you’re not always going to get what you want or get people to see things the way you want them to. But that’s ok! Because sometimes, regardless of what other people think, you need to do everything you can to improve yourself and not worry as much about what others think about you and the situations you have going on in your life.

So shake off that anger and get back to living a beautiful, amazing life. You may not be able to control the way that people act, but you can CERTAINLY control how you react to those people. Let me know if you’ve ever had to deal with similar circumstances and how you dealt with them. I love hearing from you guys! 

 

I’m glad to be back, loves. I missed you.

 

All of My Love,

Jack Harrison.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 21, 2012 by .
