The Honest Life

A blog about living an honest life filled with success, happiness, struggle, and most importantly, LOVE!

How Dungeons and Dragons Can Change Your Life

A while back I went to go see the midnight premiere of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows pt. 2 with my sister and a really good friend of mine. While we were there we met an extremely nerdy man in his mid-40s that started telling us about Dungeons and Dragons and how great of a game it was and still is. Long story short, I decided to do some research and found a group of guys that played every Wednesday at our local games shop.

Me and my friend went the first week of the Fall semester and met some of the most genuinely happy and well-rounded people I’ve met to this day. There was a male nurse that played as a mage, a cable worker who was our healer, a computer engineer that played as a ranger, and of course the Dungeon Master, Scott.

The first couple of weeks that we started playing I didn’t tell a soul what I was doing every Wednesday night; not my friends, and definitely not my girlfriend. I was afraid that the people that I loved wouldn’t accept the fact that I was THIS nerdy. I would leave the house in secret every week at 6:30, and hastily return at 10pm after the 3-hour gaming session.

After a month or so of playing, I started to get really close to my companions in the tabletop game. We added each other on Facebook, e-mailed, and even had a Dungeons and Dragons themed halloween party. The more I got to know them the more I learned; especially with my DM, Scott.

In the world of D&D, the Dungeon Master is the leader of the game. He doesn’t necessarily partake with a character or a spreadsheet, but he guides the games ebb and flow in hopes of making the play experience fun and exciting.

Scott was not only an excellent DM, he was an ideal life coach. To this day, I don’t think he knows how much he affected my life. He taught me (through constant example) that in order to be truly happy in life, you need to do what makes you truly happy and show people your true self; and that in doing so, you’ll find people that will care about you for who you are and love to be around you no matter what your hobbies or lifestyle may be.

I’m not a necessarily outwardly nerdy person. If you look at me at first glance, “nerd” is probably one of the last things that would come to your mind. I used to classify myself as a “closet nerd” to my closest friends and I would never tell anyone I played games other than Battlefield 3, or that I liked anime, or that I raided in World of Warcraft on a hardcore level for years. I would never speak of any of that in public. And the truth of the matter is that I was HIDING. I was hiding my TRUE self away from the world and allowing people to love me for someone that I was pretending to be.

My name is Jack Harrison. I love playing Starcraft II, roleplaying Dungeons and Dragons with my friends, sitting on the couch and watching anime for 8-hours when I can, and talking about life and it’s struggles over the internet with complete strangers that I hope will become true friends with time. This is who I am, and this is who I’ve always been.

So stop hiding your TRUE self from the world. Wear the clothes you want. Watch the movies you want. And be honest with people about what you REALLY love, and you will not only find people that will shower you with love and healthy relationships, but you’ll be living a truly HONEST LIFE!

————

Who are you? What do you love to do when no one is watching? Share it with the world and let it be known that this is who YOU are, and you’re not going to change for anyone.

With ALL of my love,

Jack

4 comments on “How Dungeons and Dragons Can Change Your Life

  1. Scott Charles Rogers
    August 24, 2012

    Oh my goodness! What a kick ass way to start my Friday! Thank you! And yes, I so agree with your post. You got to embrace the things, ideas, and people you love and then you will live a life worth living on your terms. Again, thank you!

  2. pinktoesockie
    August 24, 2012

    Awesome post! And I totally agree . D&D, Harry Potter, and Magic happen to be some of my favorite things *Starts humming The Sound of Music song*

    Happy Friday!

  3. missnerdlove
    September 1, 2012

    Its true D&D changes lives! lol I played my first campaign almost a year ago with my now boyfriend and his closest friends… they are now my closest friends and I feel like the game brought us so close together! I can’t wait to do my next campaign in December!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 24, 2012 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
