The Honest Life

A blog about living an honest life filled with success, happiness, struggle, and most importantly, LOVE!

Finish What You Start, Trust Me

Over the last 5 years I’ve been writing music. It’s a true passion of mine. The problem is that every time I try to write a new song, half way through I come up with another and put the first away for later. I was writing a new song last night when an idea popped into my head for a different song. The second I started writing it I realized that if I continue at this pace, I’ll NEVER get to pursue my dream of performing my own songs live.

This got me thinking about our lives and why it is that we live our lives so quickly? After all, the most beautiful things in life are enjoyed slowly; a cup of coffee, a sunset, a stage play. We are constantly speeding through, day-to-day, wanting to start the “next” thing as soon as it presents itself to us. Maybe if we slowed down and focused on what is truly important to us, we would be much happier.

So today, find something that you’ve been putting off. Whether it be reconnecting with a lost sibling or starting the first chapter of your debut novel that you’ve been working on for months. Be the best you that you can be and you’ll be much happier!

All My Love,

Jack

5 comments on “Finish What You Start, Trust Me

  1. darlinikki2
    August 14, 2012

    Agreed. We are all constantly on the move and attempting to reach deadlines. I’m learning to slow my pace and it gives me the opportunity to reflect and appreciate the goal I am attempting to complete. Slow and steady wins the race….

    • thehonestlifeblog
      August 15, 2012

      And that’s the true game of life, isn’t it? To learn to run slow and steady : )

  2. Scott Charles Rogers
    August 14, 2012

    Honest and real, a heady combination. Keep it coming. In direct response, I do try live this way. I feel confused when others that I care about deeply seem to live so fast that they have no time to really enjoy even the great things they are doing… alway like Jay-Z said “on to the next one…”

  3. kakashi0402
    August 15, 2012

    To have written what you said, you must have gone through quite a bit.

  4. rachel
    August 15, 2012

    So true; good reminder because life is so much better when taken a bit slower. I know I try!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 14, 2012 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
